Gluten Free Pizza
Coeliac disease is a digestive disfunction that damages the small intestine and interferes with absorption of nutrients from food. People who have coeliac disease cannot tolerate gluten, protein in wheat, rye, and barley. Gluten is found mainly in foods but may also be found in everyday products such as medicines, vitamins, and lip balms.
In most ordinary pizza restaurants, the presence of gluten is almost unavoidable (flours, cheeses, bread, biscuits, cakes, sauces and food in general). The probability for the gluten to also contaminate other food is very high. In pizzerias, for instance, flour particles are present everywhere, reaching toppings, sauces, oil and people. Gluten may even contaminate the food stored in the fridge.
Cooking gluten free pizza in the same oven as or together with other pizzas poses a very high risk of contamination. Naturally, other pizza equipment and tools used in this environment cannot be used either. In other words it defeats the purpose to keep gluten products in a gluten-free business.
Create a tasty gluten free pizza may not be simple. There are new products, such as gluten free pizza flour mix that have been developed and improved to obtain a pizza with a taste close to the gluten one. Gluten free flours are mainly obtained from rice, soya and sweetcorn.
Anyone interested in starting a gluten-free pizza business must know everything about gluten free products and exercise extreme caution when using ingredients and equipment.
Gluten-contaminated food could kill coeliac people. Those who sell gluten free food must be properly trained, skilled and aware of their immense responsibility.